Book Review: Children of Wrath

Every month, I pick a book from my TBR jar (which consists of books sent to me through my blog) and read it. This past month, I picked out Children Of Wrath by T.A. Ward and let me tell you….it was fantastic!

wp-15862284413522982226361974171779.jpg

Synopsis: Five years after working triage during America’s terrible Day of Destruction, Philadelphian Dr. Ethan King wants nothing more for himself and his wife than a normal life. In the aftermath, however, life is anything but normal. The mysterious nerve gas unleashed during the nationwide terrorist attack has left its disturbing mark among the millions of victims, namely brain abnormalities in unborn children. These children, dubbed Inexorables, live up to their name: they are ruthlessly violent, irrepressibly psychopathic—and incurable. They kill without thought or remorse, and inflict torment on their victims with childish glee.

In his pursuit of a normal, peaceful life, Ethan tries as best he can to put these grim realities to the back of his mind. But one cold night, when he comes face to face with an abandoned Inexorable freezing to death in the snow, he must make a choice that could cost him everything, and unravel a thread of dark woven secrets. As he races to find a cure for whatever is creating a generation of doomed children, Ethan discovers that doing the right thing in an evil world is never as clear and easy as it seems.

I had no idea what to think going into this book and was super surprised. I mean it deals with a chemical warfare attack that pretty much sets off a neurological imbalance in babies born after this attack and it seemed so similar to the whole pandemic that we are going through right now so it was super creepy.

The characters were likable and even though you didn’t get to know an overwhelming amount about them, you were given enough to feel something for them. This was a kind of dystopian that I have not experienced in a book so far and it was scary how similar it was to our own reality but it was written very well and I applaud that.

I have a whole new appreciation for anyone working in the medical field after reading this book and seeing how much they have to endure and keep going through in their day to day life. I would not be able to handle that and feel like I would have a breakdown.

I felt like I was kept on my toes during the entirety of the book and when it ended, I messaged the author right away to let them know that I liked the book and needed to know what happened next.

I would recommend this book to anyone that wants a dystopian thriller with some family struggles thrown in. Honestly, it is a good book and worth the read.

Book Rating: 4/5

You can buy this book on Amazon and find it on Goodreads.

Disclaimer: This book was sent to me by the author in physical format to read and give my honest review.


Check out this book called Dork by my author friend Will Winkle about a guy trying to get his crush’s attention while navigating his life as part of a fraternity house!

His book can be found on Amazon, Goodreads, and his website: WillWinkle.com.

IMG_20200320_155932_01



Thank you to our Patreon Supporters:

Get your name/blog added to our blog posts and Youtube videos by supporting us on Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/breakevenbooks

Anyone feeling nostalgic? Well, I have some good news. I will be a co-host for the Bookemon Readathon and we are going to be kicking it back like the ’90s. Join us in our fight to defeat Team Rocket! Check out this video for all the info!

Advertisements

Book Review: Lure by Jeff Marschall

Hey bookworms. I went and read another book again. I have to stop sticking my nose in all these books. This one was call Lure by Jeff Marschall and it was my first medical thriller book.

43670804
Synopsis: In the cold harsh winter of the Canadian Prairies a secret is about to be unearthed. Medical resident John Mueller finds himself serendipitously in possession of a professor’s coveted research. On the run, John evades enemies and authorities, unsure of who he can trust along the way. John must decode the professors past in order to understand the magnitude of what he has uncovered. While searching for explanations he ignites a new romance and rekindles an old one. But as John begins to realize the magnitude of his discovery, the ultimate decision of how to proceed with this knowledge is far from clear. As he struggles to predict the ramifications of the research, he will ultimately shoulder the responsibility of deciding whether its knowledge will benefit humanity or accelerate its path to destruction.

So this book did not keep me interested. I have quite a few things to say about it, to be honest. Let’s start with the fact that a lot of the characters were very one dimensional and did not have much going for them.

At points, I wasn’t sure if I was reading a medical thriller or a Harlequin novel. There were a couple sex scenes that were quite explicit and it seemed like very much what you would expect to see if you cracked open a heterosexual chauvinistic male brain and took a peek inside.

The thriller part lost me as well. It was more of a soap opera drama vibe that I got from the book. Not once was I really “thrilled”. I kept hoping for something to catch me off guard but it never came.

The ending was also quite disappointing. It was wrapped up very quickly in the last 2% of the book. It seemed like it was all condensed to just finish the book without any thought into if it was a good ending or not.

That being said, I did like that it was set in Saskatchewan as this is a part of Canada and I don’t believe it gets highlighted enough. I mean, there were other places that it was set in, not just Saskatchewan but it was cool to at least have some of it there. This may just be a Canadian pride thing but I love my country and I like when books are set in its beautiful landscape.

Overall, I can’t really say it was good. There were medical terms throughout and it was somewhat interesting but I am glad I am moving on to the next book. Maybe medical thrillers just aren’t my thing. But remember, this is just my opinion. Maybe someone else out there will really like this book. Who knows?

Book Rating: 2/5

You can buy this book on Amazon and find it on Goodreads.

Disclaimer: This book was sent to us by the author in ebook format to read and give an honest review.

New arrival on findings, jewelry beads, gemstone beads, pearls, glass beads, tools and much more.

Author Interview: Liz Lawler

We had the honor of joining this blog tour for Liz Lawler’s new book I’ll Find You. 

Synopsis: Don’t Wake Up, Liz Lawler’s debut novel, sold over 200,000 copies and was Bonnier Zaffre’s breakout psychological thriller of 2017. I’ll Find You, her second novel, promises to be an even more heart-stopping and electrifying read.
 
This medical thriller breaks away from the traditional domestic sphere and into the fictional Bath Windsor Bridge Hospital. Liz Lawler fantastically uses her own 20-year career as a nurse to instill an authenticity that will truly give you chills. . .
 
Perfect for fans of TM Logan and Leslie Kara, I’ll Find You will keep you guessing until the very last page.

unnamed-2


Author Interview

1. What is your top read of 2018 so far? 

 I read so many books that came out in 2018 and many of them were brilliant, so it is really hard to pick one, but as you asked for my top read I will choose the one which came immediately to mind – Don’t Make A Sound by David Jackson.

 2. What is your favorite book friendship?

 I loved the friendship between Dale and Mr Jingles in The Green Mile. Mr Jingles, a small mouse, gave solace to so many men while they awaited execution. His presence brought light and laughter and hope in a place previously devoid of such feeling. I loved how Dale and Mr Jingles’ relationship united the prison officers and inmates to become guardians of this small creature.

3. What was your most anticipated book release of 2018?

I have still to read The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris, which I’m looking forward to enormously. 

 4. How many books are in your TBR Pile?

Well actually I’m beginning to panic as there are only three books presently by my bedside. I like to have at least half a dozen books to choose from in case I suddenly get cut off from the rest of the world. When I go on holiday for seven days I take five books in my luggage and then buy two more at the airport. Just in case….

 5. Who is your favorite author?

 Really hard to answer as I love so many authors and it is a love list that gets bigger as I find new authors to add. But to mention a few: Sebastian Faulks, Harper Lee, Thomas Hardy, John Steinbeck, Emily Bronte and the list goes on…

 6. How did you start writing? 

Quite suddenly and out of the blue, after dropping my children off at school for their first day back after the summer holidays, I found myself sat at my kitchen table writing a story. That was the beginning.

 7. Where is your favorite reading spot?

 In bed when the rest of the house is fast asleep. 

 8. How long have you been an author?

 Since May 2017 when my first book  Don’t Wake Up was published. I’m still very much a newbie.

 9. What do you like about reading?

I cannot imagine my life without reading. When I think about being on a deserted island I take comfort from imagining finding hundreds and hundreds of boxes of books to read to last me forever.

10. If you had to describe yourself in a book title, what would it be?

 Chaos.

And that is the end of our interview! If you have any question that I should ask in my nex interview, comment below! Check out the rest of the blogs on this tour (they are mentioned in the feature image at the top).


If you have children, there is a new book out by Carey Fessler called Foiled that would be right up their alley! You can buy it on Amazon!

Foiled 172KB

Purium - Shop Now!